Blackford County Schools
varsity basketball game

Bruins Athletics

We believe in the Bruins! Our athletics program is a source of school and community pride, and we welcome all to come on out and share in the excitement we feel at every competitive event. Your support matters, whether as a teammate, as a member of the Bruin Boosters, or cheering our athletes on from the sidelines. 

Keep your finger on the pulse by visiting our dedicated Athletics website.

Contact Info

Tony Uggen
Athletics Director
(765) 348-7567 ext. 2111

Coaching Staff

Katey Apple
Softball
Volunteer Coach

Bob Banter
Football
Third Assistant
bbanter@blackfordschools.org

Brianna Barr
Cheerleading
Volunteer Coach
bbarr@blackfordschools.org

Brad Batman
Soccer-Boys
Head Coach
bbatman@blackfordschools.org

Adam Bell
Baseball/Swimming
Volunteer Coach/Junior High Assistant

Scott Cagle
Softball
Head Coach
Lindsey0730@yahoo.com

Holly Caldwell
Cross Country/Junior High Boys Cross Country
Head Coach
hcaldwell@blackfordschools.org

Rick Clay
Football
Second Assistant Coach
rclay@blackfordschools.org

John Crist
Golf-Boys
Volunteer Coach

Darcy Crouse
Cheerleading
Assistant Coach
dncrouse@hotmail.com

Dale Cunningham
Golf-Boys
Head Coach
dcunningham@blackfordschools.org

Kent Davis
Basketball-Boys/Baseball
Second Assistant Coach/First Assistant Coach

Gavin Dawson
Football
Junior High
gdawson@blackfordschools.org

Joni Duren
Track Unified
Assistant Coach
jduren@blackfordschools.org

Felicia Fuller
Cheerleading
Junior High

Greg Garringer
Wrestling
Head Coach
blackfordwrestling@gmail.com

Danielle Goodspeed
Cheerleading
Head Coach
dgoodspeed@blackfordschools.org

Sidney Goodspeed
Cheerleading
Volunteer
sgoodspeed@blackfordschools.org

Aaron Henderson
Soccer-Girls
Assistant Coach
ahenderson@blackfordschools.org

Jennifer Henderson
Soccer-Girls
Volunteer Coach

Bill Hess
Baseball
Volunteer
bhess8@comcast.net

Colton Hissong
Baseball
Second Assistant
chissong@blackfordschools.org

Jerry Hoover
Basketball-Boys
Head Coach
jhoover@blackfordschools.org

Don Hoover
Basketball-Boys/JH Boys Basketball
Second Assistant/8th Grade
dhoover@blackfordschools.org

Wade Hummer
Football
Junior High

Mike Jones
Football
First Assistant Coach
mjones@blackfordschools.org

Ryan Jones
Baseball
First Assistant Coach

Elijah Justice
Wrestling/Football/Track
Volunteer Coach/Junior High
ejustice@blackfordschools.org

David Leas
Basketball 7th Grade Girls
Junior High

Scott Love
Basketball-Boys
Second Assistant Coach

Brian Ludwig
Basketball 7th Grade Boys
Volunteer Coach

Christy Lytle
Swimming
Assistant Coach
clytle@blackfordschools.org

Kristie Malott
Swimming
Head Coach/Junior High

Nate Martinez
Football
Volunteer Coach
nmartinez@blackfordschools.org

Tyler McDonald
Unified Football/Unified Track
Head Coach/Volunteer Coach
tmcdonald@blackfordschools.org

Shane McNeal
Soccer - Boys
Assistant Coach

Jessica McNeil
Soccer-Girls
Volunteer Coach

Angie Mendoza
Volleyball
Volunteer Coach
amendoza@blackfordschools.org

Gerard Merkel
Basketball-Boys
Volunteer Coach

Tricia Milholland
Volleyball
Assistant Coach
tmilholland@blackfordschools.org

Angie Miner
Track Unified
Assistant Coach
aminer@blackfordschools.org

Grant Newlin
Basketball-Boys
First Assistant Coach
gnewlin@blackfordschools.org

Kristi Norton
Volleyball
Volunteer Coach

Jim Nuckols
Unified Football
Volunteer Coach

Michael Ortman
Basketball-Girls
First Assistant

Doug Osborn
Track
First Assistant Coach

Gary Rhoton
Basketball-Girls
Volunteer Coach

Lisa Rinker
Cross Country
Assistant Coach
lrinker@blackfordschools.org

Logan Roberts
Cheerleading
Junior High

Mark Rodgers
Volleyball
Head Coach
markrodgers80@yahoo.com

Randy Sehy
Football/Track
Head Coach
rsehy@blackfordschools.org

Kristi Shipley
Basketball-Girls
Second Assistant Coach
kshipley@blackfordschools.org

Grace Shockey
Track
Second Assistant Coach

John Simmons
Softball
First Assistant Coach

Amanda Slentz
Girls Cross Country
Junior High

Brian Smith
Tennis-Boys/Tennis-Girls
Volunteer Coach/Head Coach
hcpharmy@yahoo.com

Chuck Smith
Basketball 7th Grade Boys
Volunteer Coach

Bernie Sones
Golf-Girls
Volunteer Coach

Aubrey Strait
Golf-Girls
Head Coach
astrait@blackfordschools.org

TBD
Basketball 8th Grade Girls
Junior High

TBD
Volleyball 7th Grade
Junior High

Alison Thompson
Tennis-Boys/Tennis-Girls
Head Coach/Volunteer Coach
athompson@blackfordschools.org

Tony Uggen
Baseball
Head Coach
tuggen@blackfordschools.org

Orville Uggen
Baseball
Volunteer Coach

Linda Wallace
Unified Football/Unified Track
Assistant Coach/Head Coach
lwallace@blackfordschools.org

Michael Waters
Basketball-Girls
Head Coach

Matt Weaver
Volleyball 8th Grade
Junior High

Abby Whetsel
Soccer-Girls/Softball
Head Coach/Second Assistant Coach
awhetsel@blackfordschools.org

Dale Winger
Basketball 7th Grade Boys
Junior High

2392 North State Road 3, Hartford City, IN 47348

P: (765) 348-7560